Review: Shea Moisture Body Products


Today I’m taking a moment to cover a rather underappreciated category of beauty products: bath and body items. I’m typically a handmade soap kind of person (the kind that other people make, anyways), so I felt keen on exploring the avenue of bath and shower-time pampering just a bit more.

SheaM7
Shea Moisture is a drugstore brand that caught my eye. They come in pretty packaging and scents of all variety, but I chose the coconut and hibiscus because it was light, floral but not overpowering, and already vaguely relaxing. The sticker on each item touts their cute origins story, as well as a list of no-no’s these beauties are free from. *Ahem* No parabens, phthalates, paraffin, gluten, propylene glycol, mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, synthetic color, DEA, or sulfates. And also–NO animal testing. Nice!

So how did they fare in my extensive trials? Good, for sure. Better than great, and just shy of grand. For the affordability factor, they can’t be beat. Each one ranges from $7-$10, and typically, they seem to be on sale. There was a nice one running when I stopped in, so I got all of mine BOGO 50% off!

SheaM3The best product, in my opinion, was the Dry Oil Mist. The label proclaims that it is for “brightening and toning”, but really, it’s just a quick, awesome way to add moisture to your skin. Phenomenal to spritz on in the morning, or just after a shower. This is probably my favorite item because it absorbs with such ease. Fantastic as a finishing touch to keep legs and arms silky smooth.

The Hand & Body Scrub was selected for my guy. He has issues with dry, sensitive skin, and whole-body exfoliating seemed to be the way to go! I sampled this once in the shower, but personally, I found it a tad too abrasive. For myself, the Foaming Milk & Body Wash was much better. Ultra rich and creamy, working this into a good lather makes me feel like I’ve stepped out of the spa every time!

SheaM4Back to the scrub. For a person who has rougher, drier skin, this number seems to work wonders. My boyfriend swears by it now, actually preferring it to the body wash (which is apparently too slick for him to really do anything). The first ingredient in this, and what it is largely made of, is sugar. Now I’ve never tried a sugar scrub at home, but I’ve heard of the exfoliating benefits of sugar before, and this stuff really takes the cake! Since using this, my boyfriend has noted less irritation, less flaking, and healthier skin overall. As I said, it is very abrasive, so it may not be for you if you already have naturally soft skin. But for the end results, it’s definitely worth a try!

Almost every product in this line contains a combo of vitamin E, coconut oil, jojoba oil, shea butter, olive oil, and aloe–all ingredients your body will thank you for. They smell heavenly, and leave you feeling refreshed and renewed. If I had to suggest just one item (an impossibility!) I would have to say to give their massage oils a try. Longest lasting product I’ve found, slightly warming, and sooo indulgent. Try this on yourself or a partner and be amazed. You can thank me later. 😉

Rating: 4.5/5
4starhalf

2 thoughts on “Review: Shea Moisture Body Products

Leave a Reply

